Skip to content

Alyss Heart

September 8, 2010

I love reading books. I have a giant mental list of books I want to read, and the ‘Looking Glass Wars’ trilogy  by Frank Beddor has been on that list for a while. So this summer I finally got around to borrowing the first two books, ‘The Looking Glass Wars’ and ‘Seeing Redd’, from the library and I immediately wanted to do some related artwork.

Preliminary Alyss Sketch

While reading I always imagined Alyss wearing sort of Steampunk inspired clothing.  I think it  fits the Wonderland atmosphere in the books, which is at times Victorian and futuristic. (Steampunk is a fashion style inspired by Victorian era garments but with a modern sci-fi edge)  And since the ‘Alyss’ in the books is based on Alice Liddell I decided to draw her using reference of the actual Alice Liddell.

Right now I’m playing around with this one in Painter, and I have a few more planned so I’m sure this won’t be the last time The Looking Glass Wars shows up on here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Christilynn permalink
    September 8, 2010 1:21 am

    I love it! 🙂 Big fan of steampunk 🙂

Leave a Reply

